About FSID

Welcome to Foundation for Science Innovation and Development (FSID). We are setup with a mission to ensure that scientific knowledge that exists within IISc is harnessed to help the industry and society at large. Here we strive to create and translate some of the finest original scientific knowledge and technology into a practical and valuable form in the real world. We approach this large and compelling task through four symbiotic entities that come together to compose FSID. CORE that engages with large corporations in collaborative research. STEM that incubates startups that have deep science and societal impact. TIME² that works with midsized enterprises to put them on a disruptive growth path via innovation, and finally, SEED that supports rural entrepreneurship and targets the area of agricultural waste management.


The origins of FSID go back to 1991 when SID (Society for Innovation and Development) was set up in close collaboration with IISc within its sylvan, historic campus. At inception, its mission was to use the incredible repository of knowledge, world class infrastructure and talent present within IISc to help business enterprises and thereby the economy and the nation at large.

Foundation for Science Innovation and Development (FSID) was incorporated on 08th August 2020 as a Section 8 Company under the Companies Act,2013. FSID is promoted by Indian Institute of Science and was incorporated to further this original mission.



Prof. B. Gurumoorthy, the present Chief Executive of FSID, is a professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering and also Centre for Product Design and Manufacturing at the Indian Institute of Science.


Name Designation
Dr. Anurag Srivastava Chief Operating Officer
Dr. C.V. Natraj Technical Advisor
Mr. C.S. Murali Chairman, Entrepreneurship Cell
Mr. Raj Kumar Waghray Head – Entrepreneurship Cell
Mr. Yatishwar Dravid Head – SME Initiative
Mr. Krishna Kumar Thirumalai Kuravai Head – Programs
Dr. Amitava Pramanik Head, Targetted Research Initiative
Dr. S Bimal Khedkar Advisor, Defence Electronics System Integration
Dr. Srikanth Kannapan Advisor


Name Designation
Mr. Prathap Murthy G V Manager, TIME²
Ms. Prathiba B Senior Office Assistant
Mr. Nagesh S Badgeri Accounts Assistant
Ms. Vasuki L Office Assistant
Mr. Krishna M Office Assistant
Mr. Rajendra Prasad H Office Assistant
Ms. Sowmya C Office Assistant
Ms. Chandra Hasika P Site Architect
Ms. Supriya A G TIME² Assistant – Admin & Accounts
Ms. Priyanka Sachan Research Executive
Mr. Athul P Time 2 Associate
Mr. Dinesh Kumar S Project Executive – Incubation
Mr. Vishwanatha P Bhat Trainee- Finance & Accounts
Ms. Shilpee Jain EIR-Innovator
Ms. Shubha Narayan Hegde Officer (Transition)
Mr. Chandrashekar S Helper
Mr. Annaiah H Helper – Entrepreneurship Centre
Ms. Vijayamma Helper